Facebook has announced a new “disappearing messages” mode – Vanish Mode, thanks to which your messages will disappear as soon as you leave the chat
The feature is not new, it’s well known to Snapchat users
We designed Vanish Mode with security and choice in mind so the user has more controlBridget Pujals, Messenger product manager
The Vanish Mode feature will only be available to people on our friends list. Messenger will immediately notify us if our conversation partner has Vanish Mode enabled, and if someone takes a screenshot of our chat
How to start Vanish Mode?
- Open the chat window with the user in question.
- Scroll up until you see a message about disappearing messages.
- Scroll down until you see a message to enable the feature.
To enable Vanishing Messages mode, all chat participants must enable Vanish Mode. Once the mode is activated, our screen will automatically turn dark and a close button will appear at the top. From now on, we can send photos, voice recordings, videos, GIFs and messages, which will be automatically deleted after the chat users read and leave the chat.
Main image of the article: photo by Benjamin Sow, source: unsplash.comLeave a comment